3 Ways To Honor your Origins On Your Wedding Day

As I mentioned before in my Bio I’m from Morocco, and that’s a big part of who I am. So when it came to planning my wedding, I didn’t want to have a full on Moroccan wedding because my husband is Armenian American and I wanted to respect his culture too.

We had an american ceremony and our friend was our officiant which was a sweet touch. I highly recommend it if you don’t want to have a religious ceremony. It was intimate, short and sweet.

When you think of weddings, three things come to mind, dress, music and food. So that’s it!! I had to include a little Moroccan flavor to these three pillars.

The Dress:

If I were to have a typical Moroccan wedding, I would definitely do it the right way and change at least 5 times…that’s the TRADITION!!! However since I wasn’t, I decided to change once. For the ceremony and the first dance I wore the white gown of my dreams, a beautiful Lazaro mermaid shape with lace bustier and silk satin skirt adorned with a fabulous belt. Then to cut the cake I changed into a golden embroidered Takchita (Traditional moroccan gown) and I’m so glad I did because when I look at the pictures I feel like I fulfilled the dream of the little moroccan girl 🙂 plus It was memorable 😉

The Music:

My husband’s best friend is a musician and him and his brother have an amazing Armenian Band that plays in weddings…so that was a no brainer, we hired them to play at our wedding. However I didn’t want the reception to be dominated by Armenian music (even though I love it) so I made a CD of my favorite Moroccan wedding songs and gave it to the band to play in between sets. If you have an unlimited budget you could hire two bands and they alternate.

The Food:

My idea was to serve Moroccan appetizers during the cocktail hour which would’ve been great. However, the hotel where we had our wedding wouldn’t allow outside food, they just made it so hard that we gave up. They did suggest that we could provide them with a family recipe and they could include it in our menu. I do know that a few different wedding locations allow outside food to be catered for the cocktail hour.

Your wedding day is essentially a big party that you throw for your family and friends and the day goes by so quickly, so try to include elements of your origins and personality that your guests will remember the next day and hopefully years later. I personally still have friends telling me how awesome it was to see me in my moroccan gown and that makes me happy :))

Kiss Kiss

FBK

Leave a comment